Rhode Island Children's Book Award Winners and Nominees


The 2019 list of nominees reflects the recent change in the grades targeted by the award. RICBA now serves students in grades 3-5 and the newly created RI Middle School Book Award serves students in grades 6-8. The printable list of nominees can be found on the Resources page.

2019 Nominees

  1. A Boy Called Bat by Elana K. Arnold ; with pictures by Charles Santoso.
  2. Chef Roy Choi and The Street Food Remix by Jacqueline Briggs Martin & June Jo Lee; illustrated by ManOne.
  3. Curse of the Boggin/Surrender the Key by D.J. MacHale. Please note that the title and cover of Curse of the Boggin has changed since the hardcover publication. It is now titled Surrender the Key.
  4. Dream Jumper. Book One, Nightmare Escape by Greg Grunberg & Lucas Turnbloom ; color by Guy Major.
  5. Her Right Foot by Dave Eggers ; art by Shawn Harris.
  6. I'm Just No Good At Rhyming and Other Nonsense For Mischievous Kids and Immature Grown-ups by Chris Harris ; illustrated by Lane Smith.
  7. Keith Haring : The Boy Who Just Kept Drawing by Kay A. Haring ; illustrated by Robert Neubecker.
  8. The Losers Club by Andrew Clements.
  9. The Marvelwood Magicians by Diane Zahler.
  10. Mustaches for Maddie by Chad Morris and Shelly Brown.
  11. The Real McCoys by Matthew Swanson & Robbi Behr.
  12. The Rooster Who Would Not Be Quiet! by Carmen Agra Deedy ; illustrated by Eugene Yelchin. (Bilingual Edition Available)  
  13. Sergeant Reckless : The True Story of the Little Horse Who Became a Hero by Patricia McCormick ; illustrated
  14. Sidetracked by Diana Harmon Asher.
  15. Stef Soto, Taco Queen by Jennifer Torres.
  16. The Time Museum by Matthew Loux.
  17. The Trail by Meika Hashimoto.
  18. Walking with Miss Millie by Tamara Bundy.
  19. The Wizard's Dog by Eric Kahn Gale ; illustrated by Dave Phillips.
  20. The Youngest Marcher : The Story of Audrey Faye Hendricks, A Young Civil Rights Activist by Cynthia Levinson ; illustrated by Vanessa Brantley Newton.


RICBA Winners and Nominees 2010-2018

Year Winner Nominees
2018 O'Connor, Barbara. Wish. New York: Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 2016. 2018 Nominees
2017 Telgemeier, Raina. Sisters. New York: Graphix, 2014. 2017 Nominees
2016 Bell, Cece. El Deafo.New York: Amulet Books, 2014. 2016 Nominees
2015 Grabenstein, Chris. Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library.New York : Random House, 2013. 2015 Nominees
2014 Palaciao, R.J. Wonder. New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2012. 2014 Nominees
2013 Santat, Dan. Sidekicks. New York: Arthur A. Levine Books, 2011. 2013 Nominees
2012 Angleberger, Tom. The Strange Case of Origami Yoda. New York: Amulet Books, 2010. 2012 Nominees
2011 Jenkins, Steve. Never Smile at a Monkey: and 17 Other Important Things to Remember.  Boston: Houghton Mifflin Books for Children, 2009.      2011 Nominees
2010 Kibuishi, Kazu. Amulet. Book 1, The Stonekeeper. New York: Graphix, 2008.   2010 Nominees
1991-2010 Winners and Nominees  

Danielle Margarida
Youth Services Coordinator