Talking Book Library Policies

Policies for membership services in the Talking Books Library. Membership in TBL is goverened by various policies to ensure all members have fair and equal access to materials and equipment. To receive TBL service, members must remain active and in good standing.

1. Policies for Borrowing TBL Materials

1.1. Digital Books (cartridges) mailed via US Postal Service are loaned for up to eight weeks. There is a limit of 15 titles per member with no late charges for items returned after the due date. When the member's account is closed, a letter is sent to the member's address requesting any outstanding cartridges to be returned. No fees will be charged for lost items.

1.2. Digital Books downloaded from BARD by members will have no due date or return date. BARD titles have no limits to the number of downloads by members. BARD download titles are not returned when a member's account is suspended.

1.3. Magazines loaned through the NLS subscription database are returned to the approved NLS vendor listed on the return address. A member may have one or more titles sent to his/her address. The loan period is 5 weeks for weekly magazine cartridges which includes 2 weeks for travel time, and 9 weeks for magazine cartridges that are monthly or monthly/weekly which includes 2 weeks travel time.

1.4. Magazines including the Talking Times Newsletter loaned through the Perkins subscription contract must be returned as soon as possible after the member has read the title. A member may have one or more titles sent to his/her address. Failure to return 3 issues of a magazine after 7 weeks will cause suspension of a member's account until the magazines are returned.

1.5. Braille Books are loaned directly by Perkins Braille and Talking Books Library for a maximum of 8 weeks.

1.6. Described Digital Video Discs (DVDs) are loaned through Perkins. In accordance with Perkins policy, a member may borrow 1 title at a time for 2 weeks from Perkins. The title must be returned before another DVD is borrowed.

2. Policies for Borrowing TBL Equipment

2.1. Individual members will receive 1 digital player (DS1 or DA1) upon acceptance into the program.

2.2. Institutional members will receive up to 10 players (DS1 or DA1) upon acceptance into the program.

2.3. A replacement DS1 or DA1 player will be sent to individual members or institutional members upon request. The member must return the defective player within 30 days or their account will be made inactive until the defective equipment is returned.

2.4. Individual members will receive 1 headphone set upon requesting the equipment. Replacement headphones will be sent as requested.

2.5. Institutional members will receive up to 3 headphone sets upon requesting the equipment. Replacement headphones will be sent upon request.

3. Privacy and Confidentiality

3.1. All records of members of the Rhode Island Talking Books Library are private and confidential and not available for public release or review. The Talking Books Library program complies with Rhode Island General Laws 38-2-2 and 11-18-32. A member of Rhode Island Talking Books Library may request release of his or her records to an identified agency or individual with a notarized and signed letter of release to Rhode Island Talking Books Library in advance of the release date.

4. Active Member Policy

4.1 Individual and Institutional members of the Talking Books Library program are considered active members if they borrow at least one book from the TBL collection per year, or they have a qualified magazine subscription through the TBL program. Catalogs and bibliographies from the National Library Service system are not considered qualified magazines. Members who are inactive for more than one year will be contacted to review their status.