RI.gov R.I. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |

2017 Mock Newbery Discussion

It's time to start taking a closer look at the children's books of 2016. Please read one or (better yet) more books for the first meeting. Participating in the Mock Newbery is an opportunity to read the newest children’s books and to discuss them with other passionate readers. Please join us!

Mock Newbery Meeting #2 Discussion List
Wednesday, November 2, 7:00 PM. – 9:00 PM 
St. Andrews School, 63 Federal Road, Barrington, RI 02806             

Please register for this program: http://www.olis.ri.gov/services/ce/regis.php

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children published in the United States during the preceding year. The Award is restricted to authors who are citizens or residents of the United States.

Criteria: 1) In identifying "Distinguished Writing" in a book for children,

a. Committee members need to consider the following:

  • Interpretation of the theme or concept
  • Presentation of information including accuracy, clarity, and organization
  • Development of a plot
  • Delineation of characters
  • Delineation of setting
  • Appropriateness of style

Note: Because the literary qualities to be considered will vary depending on content, the committee need not expect to find excellence in each of the named elements. The book should, however, have distinguished qualities in all of the elements pertinent to it.

b. Committee members must consider excellence of presentation for a child audience.

Voting for a Rhode Island winner and honor books will take place on January 18 using the balloting procedures of the real committee.

Mock Newbery Meeting #1 Discussion List
Wednesday, October 5, 7:00 – 9:00 PM
Hampden Meadows School, 297 New Meadow Rd, Barrington, RI 02806  

Mock Newbery Meeting #2
Wednesday, November 2, 7:00 PM. – 9:00 PM 
St. Andrews School, 63 Federal Road, Barrington, RI 02806  

Mock Newbery Meeting #3
December 7, 7:00 PM. – 9:00 PM
Archie R. Cole Middle School, 100 Cedar Ave, East Greenwich, RI 02818

Mock Newbery Meeting #4
Wednesday, January 18, 2017 7:00 – 9:00 PM
Oak Lawn Branch Library, 230 Wilbur Ave, Cranston, RI 02921

Previous Mock Newbery Winners